Log in

Max Hamilton memorial prize

Max Hamilton, M.D., F.R.C.P., F.R.C. Psych., D.P.M. (1912-1988) is best known for his assessment of depressive illness through psychometrics. The Hamilton Rating Scale for Depression is widely used throughout the world, and his 1960 paper on the problem of measuring the severity of depression is probably the most cited medical publication in the second half of the twentieth century. The recipient of the 2023 award will be chosen by an international scientific jury by February 2023. This prize consists of an engraved plaque, travel support, up to three nights at the congress hotel as well as complimentary registration to be presented at the 34th CINP World Congress taking place May 7-10, 2023.


  • The Max Hamilton Memorial Prize is given to a young scientist in recognition of an outstanding contribution to psychopharmacology.
  • Nominations can be made by CINP members only; nominees need not be members of the CINP but must be 45 years old or younger on 31st December 2023.
  • The contributions may be in clinical evaluation or services, in pre-clinical or clinical research, or any combination of these.
  • The contributions may be empirical advances or a theoretical construct, based on a single discovery or a cumulative body of work.
  • The Awardee must commit to attendance at the 2023 CINP World Congress.


The Call for Nominations is closed.

Previous Winners

  • 2023: Clement Zai, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH), University of Toronto, Canada 
  • 2022: Robert McCutcheon, King's College London, UK
  • 2020: Mu-Hong Chen, Taipei Veterans General Hospital, Taiwan
  • 2018: Gwyneth Zai, The Center for Addiction and Mental Health, Canada
  • 2016: Nikolaos Koutsouleris, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany
  • 2014: Rudolf Uher, Dalhousie University, Canada

  • 2012: Elisabeth Binder, Max-Planck Institute of Psychiatry, Germany
  • 2010: Jean-Martin Beaulieu, Universit√© Laval, Canada
  • 2008: George Papakostas, Harvard Medical School, USA
  • 2006: Alexander Neumeister, Yale University School of Medicine, USA
  • 2004: Sarah H. Lisanby, New York State Psychiatric Institute at Columbia University, USA
  • 2002: Dan Stein, MRC Research Unit, South Africa

©2021 CINP